Assam-Arunachal border districts meet decides to maintain ‘status quo’

DEOMALI, Jul 30: In the wake of rising border conflicts in various parts of Northeastern states of India with the recent one between Assam and Mizoram, came a goodwill meeting staged between two border districts of Assam (Dibrugarh) and Arunachal Pradesh (Tirap) in which it was decided to maintain the “status quo”.

The inter-state border districts coordination meeting between the administrative, police and forest officers of Dibrugarh and Tirap, which was held at Deomali sub-division under Tirap district today, decided to maintain the status quo and cordial relationship between the people of both the states in ground level in the border areas along Assam-Arunachal Pradesh.

On a proposal from the ‘team Dibrugarh’ for a goodwill meeting, the DC Tirap immediately accepted the offer and availed the opportunity to invite them over to Tirap district to be a part of the meeting at Deomali.

During the day-long meeting, various issues pertaining to border areas were discussed such as improvement of road connectivity, illegal timber logging, mining and liquor transportation.

It was decided for joint patrolling by the Assam Police and its Arunachal Pradesh counterparts, forest officers of two sides shall be included to tackle the illegal operation of timber and mining in the border areas.

Responding to Tirap DC Taro Mize’s requests for boosting interstate travelling and more people to people contact, Dibrugarh Deputy Commissioner P Gopal Jha assured for early maintenance of the route from Joypur to Hukanjuri for better transportation between the two districts.

In the meeting it was decided by both the Deputy Commissioners to conduct similar goodwill meetings between both district administrations from time to time to ensure cordial relations are maintained.

Earlier, the programme started with the felicitation of DC Dibrugarh with traditional Nocte coat by DC Tirap, who in turn, was feted with Assamese ‘Gamosa’ by the DC Dibrugarh.

Among others, the meeting was attended by Tirap SP Kardak Riba, S Mishra, SP Dibrugarh, Penga Tato, ADC Deomali, Hema Nayak, IAS officer on probation (Dibrugarh), Akan Regon, SDO, Indra Chetia, ASP Dibrugarh, Tabom Soki, DFO(T) Deomali and Sandeep Bendi, DFO Dibrugarh. (DIPRO)